Guilt-free, easy pie crust

What could be more perfect than a flaky pie crust? How about one that is actually good for you? I have used this recipe for years for pies and pot pies. It makes two 9″ crusts.

Mix together:

2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour (you can put whole wheat for the 1/4 c.)

1 tsp salt

Pour into a measuring cup, but DO NOT STIR TOGETHER:

1/2 c. oil (even light olive oil works)

7 TB cold milk

Now pour the wet into the dry and stir together with fork. Separate into two and roll each out between two sheets of wax paper. (No need roll out with extra flour.) I roll it with a rolling-pin, flip it, peel off and adjust the wax paper and lay it back on again to roll it out to the desired size.

4 thoughts on “Guilt-free, easy pie crust

  1. I just discovered your blog and am absolutely LOVING your articles. What an interesting collection of wisdom you share. I love the bit about cast iron, the glycerin soap (I worked at a health food store for years and wish I had known this trick, then!), the recipes, etc.

    I gotta add you to my list so I can remember to check in to see what’s the latest!

  2. I just made this tonight and it was DELICIOUS!!!!! I made two…one with olive oil and one with canola. I liked the canola one better. I had to add some extra milk when it was a bit crumbly but when I did it was easy to work with and SO amazingly good. It made a beautiful crust!!

Leave a Reply

