Do WHAT with soap?

I have been making homemade soap for several months, but keep learning about what it is useful for. First, commercial soap makers remove the glycerin that naturally forms during the soap making process and sell it as a separate product or in lotions. Glycerin is a natural healer of dry skin.

I thought this was crazy till I tried it: After showering and drying off, I get the now wet bar of soap (only real, chemical-free soap will work for this), put it on my hands, and rub it on as if it were lotion. It is white at first, but disappears almost instantly. It is just like I had put on lotion – which actually, I have. Since as a mom I wash my hands a bazillion times a day, I do the same thing to them. Wash, dry, then rub in the soap. It really seemed weird to do at first, but I’m getting used to it.

Get this – carry a piece of soap in a zip-lock bag in your purse or bag with a few drops of water to keep it moist – and you have lotion that will make others scratch their heads wondering what you are doing. Keep them guessing, I always say….

One thought on “Do WHAT with soap?

Leave a Reply

