MSG’s motley crew of “friends”

So you’ve gone through the fridge and pantry looking for msg, or monosodium glutamate, and feel a sense of relief knowing that it is gone. Well, lo and behold, it has some sinister friends that are essentially the same in their effect on the body and brain. Here are some msg “aliases” :

Glutamic acid, textured protein, hydrolyzed protein, monopotassium glutamate, calcium caseinate, sodium caseinate, yeast extract, yeast food, autolyzed yeast.

I have found these in taco seasoning, marinades, and bouillon. But don’t worry – it takes just a little more effort, but you can find great recipes that you can make yourself instead of these pre-packaged things. Now I buy organic stock and it makes better soups and I know the taste is real. I will post recipes as I find them that are sure to be a hit.

One thought on “MSG’s motley crew of “friends”

  1. My mom just asked me about MSG – if it was really that bad. Now I guess I have to inform her that there’s more to look for. And I need to go through me own kitchen better.

Leave a Reply

